Skip to content

SharePoint publishing sites don’t appear on Google and Bing search results

December 18, 2012

I’ve been working with SharePoint 2010 since the beta release and I’ve done several SharePoint Publishing Site for many clients websites. It’s really fast to build a new website with custom look & feel, but last month I realized that SharePoint site are not indexed by Google and Bing crawlers. Because of this I’ve lost one major client because he was not happy with this SharePoint “feature”. I’ve been searching for a solution since then and I haven’t found it yet, if someone has any info about this, please reply back to me.

I’ll update this post with my findings – if I find anything! – and I’ll try to contact Microsoft to see if they have any solution for this.

One quick test you can do: try to google or bing the word ferrari. It will not return any content from the inside pages.

From → SharePoint 2010

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

